Click here for e-zine of last year’s event

 Losing It Again: Mad Chicks Lurking behind tabloid interest in the mental health crises of artists like Britney Spears, Heath Ledger and Amy Whitehouse is a vast unease around mental ill-health. The everyday stigmatisation of the Mad affects everyone. Mad Chicks fight this stigma by celebrating the creativity and eloquence of Mad women. Refugees and escapees of the Prozac Nation are converging at Corsica Studios on Sunday March 9th 2008 to host a wild night of art, music, video and performance. In celebration of International Women’s Day, Losing It features female artists of all genres including Ana da Silva, founding member of the supremely influential feminist post-punk band The Raincoats; renowned improvisational vocalists Maggie Nicols and Francine Luce; and Edinburgh Festival stunner Liz Bentley. The night will be MCed by award-winning Mad writer Dolly Sen (See complete line up following event details below) Building on the success of Mad Chicks’ & Mad Pride’s strange litany of creative and political events, Losing It celebrates cultural and psychological diversity and encourages self-empowerment for Mad women, who belong to one of the most marginalised groups in society. All are welcome!

Losing It Event Details Date: Sunday March 9th 2008 Venue: Corsica Studios, Unit 5, Elephant Road, London SE17 1LB Travel: Elephant & Castle Tube, Rail & Buses Time: 7pm to midnight

Price: £5, £2 Concessions Contact: madchickslosingit@gmail.com Web: http://www.mad-chicks.org.uk & www.myspace.com/madchickslosingit

Losing It Line Up March 9th 2008

Ana da Silva – www.myspace.com/anadasilva

Chanje Kunda – www.myspace.com/chanjekunda

Melanie Clifford – www.artsadmin.co.uk

Ceri Buck – www.openbracket.org.uk

Francine Luce – www.francineluce.com

Maggie Nicols – www.maggienicols.com

Rachel Anderson – www.lambethbandofsolidarity.wordpress.com

Rai Studley – www.myspace.com/raistudleymusic

Liz Bentley – www.myspace.com/lizbentley

performer Walki’s Monster – www.myspace.com/walkismonster

Drunk Granny – www.myspace.com/drunkgranny

Corey Orbison – www.myspace.com/coreyorbison

Stephanie Something – www.myspace.com/stephaniesomething

Dolly Sen – www.dollysen.com

Mad Chicks is about women psychiatric patients and survivors of the psychiatric system. The movement developed from within Mad Pride, a user-led mental health civil rights movement, committed to ending discrimination against psychiatric patients, challenging misinformation in relation to mental health and celebrating Mad culture. Mad Chicks believes that a women-focused organisation and campaign can highlight issues with particular female resonance, including abuse and sexism in the NHS, mixed wards, childcare, assertiveness and rights – and provide a more conducive space for women to discuss their experience of services. They draw on the considerable creativity and activism already existing within Mad Pride, and amongst its contacts and supporters, in order to show what extraordinary things Mad women have done and are able to do in supportive environments and elsewhere.

About International Women’s Week in Southwark Losing It is part of Southwark’s International Women’s Week. More than twenty events are taking place across the borough in celebration of the significant role that women have played, and continue to play, in shaping history. For more information on other events taking place between March 1 – 10 2008, contact: Lis Ssenjovu: elisabeth.ssenjovu@southwark.gov.uk http://www.southwark.gov.uk/DiscoverSouthwark/EventsSection/WomensWeek

Click here for e-zine of last year’s event